

TOWN OF CLARESHOLM PROVINCE OF ALBERTA REGULAR COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES OCTOBER 25, 2010

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order at 7:18pm by Mayor David Moore

PRESENT: Mayor David Moore; Councillors: Betty Fieguth, Doug MacPherson, Connie

Quayle, Daryl Sutter and Judy Van Amerongen; Chief Administrative

Officer: Kris Holbeck; Secretary-Treasurer: Karine Wilhauk

ABSENT: Councillor David Hubka

AGENDA: Moved by Councillor Quayle that the Agenda be accepted as presented.

CARRIED

MINUTES: REGULAR MEETING – OCTOBER 12, 2010

Moved by Councillor Sutter that the Regular Meeting Minutes of October 12,

2010 be accepted as presented.

CARRIED

FINANCES: <u>SEPTEMBER 2010 BANK STATEMENT</u>

Moved by Councillor MacPherson to approve the September 2010 bank

statement as presented.

CARRIED

ACTION ITEMS:

1. CORRES: Fort Macleod Santa Claus Parade

RE: Corporate Sponsorship

Received for information.

2. CORRES: Municipal District of Willow Creek

RE: 20th Annual Legacy of Our Land Banquet

Received for information.

3. DRAFT PROJECT PROPOSAL: Prairie Urban Garden Demonstration

Moved by Councillor Sutter to accept the draft project proposal for the Prairie Urban Garden Demonstration as presented. **CARRIED**

4. MAKE IT OFFICIAL: Trade Marks, Official Marks – Coun. Sutter

Received for information.

5. CLARESHOLM HOSPITALS MEAL ISSUES – Councillor Sutter

Received for information.

6. CORRES: Indoor Walking Group

RE: Request for Funding

Moved by Councillor MacPherson to support the Indoor Walking Group with a grant of up to \$1,000 for the October 2010 to March 2011 season, with provision that administration seek a grant from the Claresholm Healthy Community Coalition to help offset the costs.

CARRIED

7. CORRES: SouthGrow Regional Initiative

RE: Information

Received for information.

8. CORRES: Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance RE: AlbertaSW Regional Dinner

Received for information.

9. CORRES: Oldman River Regional Services Commission RE: Municipal Planning Orientation

Moved by Councillor Sutter to appoint Councillor Van Amerongen as the alternate to Doug MacPherson on the Oldman River Regional Services Commission.

CARRIED

10. CORRES: Communities in Bloom Claresholm Committee

Received for information.

11. COUNCILLOR ORIENTATION: Presented by George Cuff

Received for information.

12. BOARD & COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Moved by Councillor Quayle to appoint Shirley Leonard, Lisa Anderson, Arden Dubnewick, Mike McAlonan, Mary Thompson, Katherine Roberts and Marika Thyssen to the Claresholm Public Library Board.

CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Sutter to appoint Anola Laing, Don Clark, Donald Glimsdale, Douglas Leeds, Bernice Case, Rhodena King and Harold Seymour to the Claresholm Museum Board.

CARRIED

Moved by Councillor MacPherson to appoint Diana Ross, Danielle Slettede and Gerry McGuire to the Claresholm & District FCSS Board.

CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Sutter to appoint Anna Mae Mifflin and Shirley Isaacson to the Porcupine Hills Lodge Board. CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Quayle to appoint Chantal Blokpoel and Gerry McGuire to the Economic Development Committee. CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Quayle to appoint Grant Jordan and James Young to the Municipal Planning Commission. CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Fieguth to appoint Doug Kemery, Joyce Zwick and Gerry McGuire to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board.

CARRIED

Moved by Councillor MacPherson to appoint Doug Kemery to the Local and Composite Assessment Review Board. CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Van Amerongen to appoint Grant Jordan and Sally Miller to the Community Standards Committee. CARRIED

13. <u>CAO UPDATE – October 25, 2010</u>

Received for information.

Moved by Councillor Sutter to remove the playground at the Claresholm Museum due to safety issues. **CARRIED**

14. ADOPTION OF INFORMATION ITEMS

Moved by Councillor MacPherson to accept the information items as presented. CARRIED

15. IN CAMERA: PERSONNEL / LEGAL

Moved by Councillor Sutter that this meeting go In Camera.

CARRIED

Moved by Councillor Quayle that this meeting come out of In Camera.

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT: Moved by Councillor MacPherson that this meeting adjourn at 8:44pm.

CARRIED

Mayor – David Moore Chief Administrative Officer – Kris Holbeck, CA